Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary

ebook

An award-winning, big-hearted time capsule of one class’s poems during a transformative school year. A great pick for fans of Margarita Engle and Eileen Spinelli.
 
Eighteen kids,
one year of poems,
one school set to close.
Two yellow bulldozers
crouched outside,
ready to eat the building
in one greedy gulp.
 
But look out, bulldozers.
Ms. Hill’s fifth-grade class
has plans for you.
They’re going to speak up
and work together
to save their school.
 
Families change and new friendships form as these terrific kids grow up and move on in this whimsical novel-in-verse about finding your voice and making sure others hear it.
Honors and Praise:
Winner of a Cybils Award in Poetry
Winner of an Arnold Adoff Poetry Honor Award for New Voices
An NCTE Notable Verse Novel
A Bank Street College of Education Best Children’s Book of the Year
An ILA-CBC Children’s Choice
Nominated for the Pennsylvania Young Reader’s Choice Award, the Wisconsin State Reading Association Children’s Book Award, the Rhode Island Children’s Book Award, and the Great Stone Face Award (New Hampshire), Lectio Book Award Master List 
“This gently evocative study of change in all its glory and terror would make a terrific read-aloud or introduction to a poetry unit. A most impressive debut.” —School Library Journal
“Sure to inspire the poet in all of us, young and old.” —Mark Goldblatt, author of Twerp


Expand title description text
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Awards:

Kindle Book

  • Release date: April 12, 2016

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780553521399
  • File size: 26045 KB
  • Release date: April 12, 2016

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9780553521399
  • File size: 26947 KB
  • Release date: April 12, 2016

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS Level:4.7
Lexile® Measure:0
Interest Level:4-8(MG)
Text Difficulty:0-3

An award-winning, big-hearted time capsule of one class’s poems during a transformative school year. A great pick for fans of Margarita Engle and Eileen Spinelli.
 
Eighteen kids,
one year of poems,
one school set to close.
Two yellow bulldozers
crouched outside,
ready to eat the building
in one greedy gulp.
 
But look out, bulldozers.
Ms. Hill’s fifth-grade class
has plans for you.
They’re going to speak up
and work together
to save their school.
 
Families change and new friendships form as these terrific kids grow up and move on in this whimsical novel-in-verse about finding your voice and making sure others hear it.
Honors and Praise:
Winner of a Cybils Award in Poetry
Winner of an Arnold Adoff Poetry Honor Award for New Voices
An NCTE Notable Verse Novel
A Bank Street College of Education Best Children’s Book of the Year
An ILA-CBC Children’s Choice
Nominated for the Pennsylvania Young Reader’s Choice Award, the Wisconsin State Reading Association Children’s Book Award, the Rhode Island Children’s Book Award, and the Great Stone Face Award (New Hampshire), Lectio Book Award Master List 
“This gently evocative study of change in all its glory and terror would make a terrific read-aloud or introduction to a poetry unit. A most impressive debut.” —School Library Journal
“Sure to inspire the poet in all of us, young and old.” —Mark Goldblatt, author of Twerp


Expand title description text